Club app icon

Pitchero Club

The best way to keep up to date with MANCHESTER RUGBY CLUB


Lancashire Senior Cup Draw

1 month ago By

Manchester have been drawn away to Rochdale in the Lancashire Senior Cup, matches to be played on the August Bank Holiday Weekend.

The Lancashire Senior Cup Committee has made the decision to bring the John Burgess Lancashire Senior Cup out of mothballs and re-establish the competition for this magnificent trophy.

The Lancashire Senior Cup competition was established 125 years ago in the 1893-94 season with Oldham RFC being the first club hold up this prestigious trophy. Tyldesley RFC were the next winners in 1894-95, Morecambe RFC in 1895-96 and finally Littleborough in the1896-97 season. The Cup was then not competed for until 1971 when the Lancashire Senior Cup competition was re-established. The cup was renamed John Burgess Lancashire Senior Cup and was open to all member clubs in the palatine of Lancashire.

Successful teams who have won the Lancashire Cup include:

Orrell (10), Waterloo (7), Liverpool/Liverpool St Helens (5), Fylde (4),Sedgley Park (4), Manchester (3), Preston Grasshoppers (3), Vale of Lune (2) West Park St Helens (2), Widnes (2), Oldham (1), Tydesley (1), Morecambe (1) and Littleborough (1)

Updated 10:41 - 16 Jul 2018 by

Where next?

First XV and Ladies Fixtures 2018/19 The club's fixtures for next season in North One West and Championship North Two are now on the website.
Senior Mens Pre-Season Training Pre-season training starts this week - Wednesday 4th & Thursday 5th for the first week only (to avoid World Cup clashes!)

Book your OPRO mouth guard day!

Sat 18 Aug
Tournament 14:00
Sat 25 Aug
1st XV Rochdale
Cup 15:00


Club sponsors